Women in Architecture & Urban Planning – My Ode to Women’s History Month

Inspired by Faith Dow, the blogmaster of Acts of Faith in Love in Life post on Women’s History Month, I have decided during the month of March I will highlight women urban planners and architects. Off to do my research now…will bring back oodles of knowledge starting next week.

In the meantime, check out these neat looking buildings designed by women architects

Aqua – Location: Chicago – Designed by Jeanne Gang
Aqua, Chicago
Source: wjcordier(Flickr)

MAXXI/Museum of XXI Century Arts – Location: Rome – Designed by Zaha Hadid
The MAXXI - Museum of Contemporary Art of the XXI Century
Source: Francesco di Capua (Flickr)

2 Comments on “Women in Architecture & Urban Planning – My Ode to Women’s History Month”

  1. Segolene says:

    Hi,

    I think this is a great initiative! Indeed women architects are too often overlooked! A gender perspective on urban planning is also quite important in all areas (economic, social, environmental) of integrated urban planning – if you think so I invite you to react to our work and visions on that: http://www.blog.urbact.eu/?p=664

  2. Ségolène,

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting! I am in research mode for this series and am currently writing up the first post. I will definitely provide a reaction to your work at URBACT. URBACT is a very impressive initiative overall from what I have reviewed.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.