From the Its Not All “The Wire” File – Dashboard Photos

About a month ago, I went on a twitter rant about the lopsided perception of my home city, Baltimore. One of my twitter followers, who is from a city that shall remain nameless *cough – only 200 miles north of Charm City, financial capital of the U.S. and arguably the world, cough* mentioned it was the television show The Wire that made her wary of visiting Baltimore.

Do not get me wrong, The Wire was a great show. It was also pretty accurate about the underbelly of this town. However, an outcome of the show has created a one-sided, not so great view about the city. I can remember a few years back sitting in Denver International Airport waiting for my flight back home when I overheard a conversation between two women. One from Baltimore, one not. The woman from not from Baltimore, based in part on watching The Wire, admitted she had her doubts about the city at first. But she did get a chance to visit and was pleasantly surprised.  Being within earshot of this chat put me into a mental battle to not insert myself into their conversation but I managed to keep to myself.

Now I do know this woman only hit the tourist spots based on the neighborhoods she named (Inner Harbor, Fells Point, Canton, Federal Hill, you get the idea), but this woman was surprised that even those neighborhoods existed. Why? Because the perception is that Baltimore is all ‘shoot-em-up’ alley, rowhomes in dire neighborhoods, the and the drug game.  Does this exist?  Yes.  Is it the whole story? No.

With that said, I plan to resume with my very amateur photography again by taking and posting photos of my town depicting the opposite of this unsavory image. The photo below shows a corner in the Mount Vernon neighborhood.

As an urban planner,  the lack of street activity on a beautiful Sunday afternoon is a cause for concern. However, it’s a pretty good shot.  As the title of this post implies, I took this photo from inside my car.  Enjoy!

In the near future, I will provide more photos from this day and others.  Just as soon as I master PhotoShop in order to black out images of car tags!

Neighborhood:  Mount Vernon   Location:  Charles Street @ Eager Street – Headed North

2 Comments on “From the Its Not All “The Wire” File – Dashboard Photos”

  1. Mark says:

    True. Every time I visit Tennessee and tell people I live in Baltimore, the first thing out of their mouth is, “Oh, The Wire”.

    I usually follow that up by asking about their favorite brand of heroin. They really don’t get dry humor down south…

  2. Hello Mark and thanks for leaving a comment. I can recall one of my colleagues in grad school who was extremely passionate about the bad impression the show made to people outside of Maryland (or outside of Baltimore for that matter).

    And to your dry humor, a big laugh. Ha!


Leave a Reply

